Online Portfolio Review

     This is a special service in order to provide you with an organized and detailed explanation of how you can improve your photography. While I am willing to review work of photographers of all skill levels, I especially recommend this portfolio review for the more seasoned photographer that feels confident with all of the basic photography and processing techniques, but senses they lack just a little something in order to achieve the final result they envision. If you are feeling stuck in your photography, this review will be just what you need in order to know how to start progressing again.

     The cost of this service is $100USD, which will need to be paid upon signing up. I will then reach out within 48 hours via email to schedule our portfolio review and ask that you send me 10 of your images which we will review together over Zoom. I will walk you through each image and give you detailed feedback on what I think is working, what could be improved, and how you can go about making those changes both in post-processing and when shooting in the field. The session can also be recorded upon request in case you would like to review it later on. 

  • "Fireflies"
  • "Pintura"
  • "Dark Brilliance"
  • "Molten Mud"


Click here to sign up for a Portfolio Review


Feel free to email me at bennettfilm@gmail.com if you have any questions



How Did Your Portfolio Review Help You?

  • David Foster

    on August 15, 2022

    I first came across Eric as a guest on one the photography podcasts I consume and was taken by his obvious passion, and drive. I subscribed to his mailing list and signed up for one of the critique sessions that he co-hosts with other renowned photographers. Then another, and another. From these sessions, I realised that a 1:1, structured around my needs, would deliver value in a different way.

    We started by reviewing some personal favourites from my portfolio and I gained immensely from Eric’s insights into how images that I thought “finished” could be improved, or how taking a slightly different approach in the field might have yielded a better result. We then moved on to reviewing some recent shoots with a view to choosing images with the best potential – needless to say, not always the ones I would have chosen. Eric’s enthusiastic, honest and objective (as far as that’s possible in art) opinion on my images was immensely helpful and will change the way I approach subjects when out shooting. I hope to spend more time with Eric in the future.

  • Tony Joslin

    on July 30, 2022

    Eric immediately identified a bunch of improvements that will enable big steps forward, mainly around processing, but also in relation to composition. Blindspot issues that seem glaring in hindsight. I regularly engage in a few critique groups, but can't compare the quality of feedback that comes with the credibility and expertise of a pro at the top of their game. Eric's style is straightfoward, courteous and easy to understand. Thanks mate - much appreciated!

  • Jeanie Sumrall-Ajero

    on December 30, 2021

    I had reached a point where I was feeling like I’d plateaued with my photography, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on why. During my portfolio review, Eric helped me “see” my photos differently by asking probing questions and offering advice based on my intentions. (Not once did he start a comment with, “If it was my photo…”) This is exactly the type of feedback I was hoping for and Eric was a master at guiding me through my own photos so that by the end of the session, I was able to identify most of the “areas for improvement” on my own before he said anything. This knowledge will serve me well going forward – both in the field and during post-processing. I highly recommend taking advantage of Eric’s portfolio review if you feel stuck in your photography and are ready to do a deep dive into analyzing your own photos.

  • Brian Beatty

    on June 30, 2021

    Eric graciously took an hour out of his morning to review my portfolio of images from 2020, and the feedback was instrumental in my improvement as a photographer thus far in 2021. While I have fewer images than I did at this point last year, I am able to create more impactful and portfolio-worthy images thanks in large part to the tips Eric shared. It is definitely an hour well spent, and I am looking forward to reconnecting with him after this year for an evaluation of my 2021 efforts and how I was able to implement his recommendations. Thanks again Eric!

  • Kevin Monahan

    on March 4, 2021

    For such a quick portfolio session, Eric did a great job in helping me see my images in a new way and discover the different things I could implement to improve the photos. The amount of concise feedback he gave speaks to how much knowledge he has when it comes to photography and post processing. Hearing his feedback on composition was very helpful and that has been one thing I look out for more on my images. I've been going through my older images and playing around with the crop tool so I can make my compositions stronger (something I never really did prior to his feedback). I definitely recommend one of these sessions!

  • Eric Thiessen

    on February 13, 2021

    I want to thank Eric for taking time out of his busy schedule to review my portfolio. As clear as it is in his own work, Eric's experience and expertise became very clear during our review. His advise both in composition and post processing helped me see things more critically, and examine my own work even more. Growth is endless in landscape photography, and having a class-A dude like Eric helping me to grow in my journey is an honor.

    Thanks again man!

  • Alexander Jones

    on February 10, 2021

    I can't thank Eric enough for his generosity with his time. Getting high quality critique is crucial to progressing as an artist. Eric's feedback was thoughtful, actionable, and easy to understand. I provided him a variety of different image styles and he was able to quickly pick out the one or two key aspects of each image that could be improved to make them stronger overall. He did all of this objectively and took the extra step to ask if I understood what he was explaining. One of the best parts of the process was that he asked me what I thought could be improved with each image before he went into his own feedback. This was a valuable self-reflection exercise for me and made the entire experience more interactive and enjoyable. Eric is a true professional and I highly recommend photographers of any experience level to take advantage of his high quality feedback sessions. Thanks again, Eric!

  • Brie Stockwell

    on February 10, 2021

    Honestly, my images are so personal to me and it’s a little like bearing one’s soul to open them up for critique. In our session, Eric perfectly balanced compliments and constructive criticism and made some very thoughtful suggestions. He helped me hone in on distracting elements, gave me editing refinements, made future compositional suggestions and helped me to focus on what I want to say with my images. Plus, he’s an awesome guy to talk with! I’ll definitely be asking him to help me with my future portfolio!

  • Jesse Morrison

    on February 3, 2021

    Eric's portfolio review was super helpful for my growth as a photographer. Eric helped me look at photos in ways I had not thought of before, and he taught me some compositional tips and tricks that were brand new to me. I appreciated his honesty and genuine feedback on my work; he was willing to give me straight up feedback but also took time to appreciate what was working while critiquing what wasn't. I would highly recommend this portfolio review for anyone who is feeling stuck in their progression or just wants to pick up some cool tricks to see things differently in the field.

  • optimalfocusphotography

    on February 2, 2021

    I really appreciated Eric's honest and thoughtful portfolio review; he provided feedback that will make me much more cognizant of distracting elements in my compositions in the future. A worthy reminder that if an element is not contributing to the composition in some way, then it's a distraction, and that the art of photography also includes what you choose to exclude from the frame.

Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In