Online Portfolio Review

     This is a special service I am offering in order to deliver you an organized and detailed explanation of how you can improve your photography. While I am willing to review work of photographers of all skill levels, I especially recommend this portfolio review for the more seasoned photographer that feels confident with all of the basic photography and processing techniques, but senses they lack just a little something in order to achieve the final result they envision. If you are feeling stuck in your photography, this review will be just what you need in order to know how to start progressing again.

     If you are interested in having me review your work, you can fill out this application here. I will then ask that you send me 10 of your images which we will then review together over Zoom. I will walk you through each image and give you detailed feedback on what I think is working, what could be improved, and how you can go about making those changes both in post processing and shooting in the field. 

     After I receive your completed application, I will contact you to schedule a time we can spend an hour or so going over your images. The cost of this service is $100USD which will need to be paid via PayPal or Venmo after your application is approved. Please do not fill out an application unless you are planning on paying for my service.

Feel free to email me at bennettfilm@gmail.com if you have any questions



  • "Flourishing Life"
  • "A Happy Medium"
  • "Resurgence"
  • "Harmony"

How Did Your Portfolio Review Help You?

  • Brian Beatty

    on June 30, 2021

    Eric graciously took an hour out of his morning to review my portfolio of images from 2020, and the feedback was instrumental in my improvement as a photographer thus far in 2021. While I have fewer images than I did at this point last year, I am able to create more impactful and portfolio-worthy images thanks in large part to the tips Eric shared. It is definitely an hour well spent, and I am looking forward to reconnecting with him after this year for an evaluation of my 2021 efforts and how I was able to implement his recommendations. Thanks again Eric!

  • Kevin Monahan

    on March 4, 2021

    For such a quick portfolio session, Eric did a great job in helping me see my images in a new way and discover the different things I could implement to improve the photos. The amount of concise feedback he gave speaks to how much knowledge he has when it comes to photography and post processing. Hearing his feedback on composition was very helpful and that has been one thing I look out for more on my images. I've been going through my older images and playing around with the crop tool so I can make my compositions stronger (something I never really did prior to his feedback). I definitely recommend one of these sessions!

  • Eric Thiessen

    on February 13, 2021

    I want to thank Eric for taking time out of his busy schedule to review my portfolio. As clear as it is in his own work, Eric's experience and expertise became very clear during our review. His advise both in composition and post processing helped me see things more critically, and examine my own work even more. Growth is endless in landscape photography, and having a class-A dude like Eric helping me to grow in my journey is an honor.

    Thanks again man!

  • Alexander Jones

    on February 10, 2021

    I can't thank Eric enough for his generosity with his time. Getting high quality critique is crucial to progressing as an artist. Eric's feedback was thoughtful, actionable, and easy to understand. I provided him a variety of different image styles and he was able to quickly pick out the one or two key aspects of each image that could be improved to make them stronger overall. He did all of this objectively and took the extra step to ask if I understood what he was explaining. One of the best parts of the process was that he asked me what I thought could be improved with each image before he went into his own feedback. This was a valuable self-reflection exercise for me and made the entire experience more interactive and enjoyable. Eric is a true professional and I highly recommend photographers of any experience level to take advantage of his high quality feedback sessions. Thanks again, Eric!

  • Brie Stockwell

    on February 10, 2021

    Honestly, my images are so personal to me and it’s a little like bearing one’s soul to open them up for critique. In our session, Eric perfectly balanced compliments and constructive criticism and made some very thoughtful suggestions. He helped me hone in on distracting elements, gave me editing refinements, made future compositional suggestions and helped me to focus on what I want to say with my images. Plus, he’s an awesome guy to talk with! I’ll definitely be asking him to help me with my future portfolio!

  • Jesse Morrison

    on February 3, 2021

    Eric's portfolio review was super helpful for my growth as a photographer. Eric helped me look at photos in ways I had not thought of before, and he taught me some compositional tips and tricks that were brand new to me. I appreciated his honesty and genuine feedback on my work; he was willing to give me straight up feedback but also took time to appreciate what was working while critiquing what wasn't. I would highly recommend this portfolio review for anyone who is feeling stuck in their progression or just wants to pick up some cool tricks to see things differently in the field.

  • optimalfocusphotography

    on February 2, 2021

    I really appreciated Eric's honest and thoughtful portfolio review; he provided feedback that will make me much more cognizant of distracting elements in my compositions in the future. A worthy reminder that if an element is not contributing to the composition in some way, then it's a distraction, and that the art of photography also includes what you choose to exclude from the frame.

  • Martin Gonzalez

    on January 31, 2021

    Eric sees the world completely different. He see images and can tell if there are any distracting elements or lines or shapes that you would have not noticed. He doesn't hold back and gives you his most honest feedback on the images you present him. This was the exact kind of critique that I needed on my own work. It's sobering but his advice and feedback rings through my mind as I work on my next set of images or while I am out in the field. It's refreshing to know that there is a honest voice out there that you can rely on in a world where social media is dominated with empty compliments. I am grateful of Eric's review of my images and would not hesitate to get them reviewed again.

  • Brent Clark

    on January 29, 2021

    Detailed, high-effort feedback from a skilled artist can be really hard to find these days. I'm really glad Eric offers this service and that he spent some of his time really digging into a set of my nature photographs.

    He gave specific critiques and praises of elements of each image, and in particular was able to point out things I had never seen in images I've worked on for a long time. He could see the forest through the trees, so to speak. A lot of his advice was immediately actionable on those images, and hearing his thoughts on how he approaches composition and processing will benefit me in the future, too!

    I would recommend this service to anybody that would benefit from an expert eye on their images... and really, who wouldn't!?

  • Tace Anderson

    on January 29, 2021

    I’m very grateful for the time Eric set aside to review my portfolio. Not only were his words helpful in opening my eyes to look at my work in a different perspective, but they also pushed me to be more mindful of composition and lighting in my photos. Having another photographer review and critique your images is a great way to grow and gain new insights! Thank you again Eric .

Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In